A Lingering Look at Windows: # 1

This weekly challenge is hosted by Dawn from The Day After’ who invites participants to post pictures of any windows that  they find curious, inviting, photogenic, or in some way tell a story.

Starting afresh in 2014, this is week 1. Click to see more windows and/or to join in the challenge.

Down the drive,
Under the early yellow leaves of oaks;
One lodge is Tudor, one in Indian style.
The bridge, the waterfall, the Temple Pool
And there they burst on us, the onion domes,
Chajjahs and chattris made of amber stone:
‘Home of the Oaks’, exotic Sezincote.
~ from “Summoned by Bells”, by John Betjeman

Sezincote is a British estate, located in Gloucestershire, England. It was designed by Samuel Pepys Cockerell in 1805, and is a notable example of Neo-Mughal architecture, a 19th-century reinterpretation … Wikipedia

and was the inspiration for the Brighton Pavilion.

This extraordinary Indian house set in the Cotswolds hills has a central dome, minarets, peacock-tail windows, jail-work railings and pavilions. The main photo above shows the curving Orangery which frames the Persian Garden of Paradise with a fountain and canals.

Orangery
Orangery
Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

12 thoughts on “A Lingering Look at Windows: # 1”

  1. What a fascinating place, Jude… I’m off to check it out on Wikipedia! Looks like another of those places that would make me a good detour on my way to visit friends in the Midlands or somewhere…

    1. It is fascinating. When I discovered it I just had to visit as it is so exotic. The grounds are lovely too – I’ll have to do a post about those – and you can go inside the house which is well worth it. £10 for grounds and house.

      1. I love discovering/finding out about places like this. Another one to add to my list of ‘must see’ places. Just got to be patient and wait for the weather to improve!

  2. Interesting place you have found for us this week Jude. Have you seen the Brighton pavilion?
    I am sweltering in heat wave conditions over here. Would love some of your rain…

    1. I have seen the Brighton Pavilion PP, but not been inside it. I was disappointed to see it is practically hidden by other buildings crowding in on it. I visualised it being in an open space. I’ll see if I got any photos of it, but they are probably not very good.

      As for the rain, you are very welcome to some, though at the moment (touch wood) it is dry, though still windy.

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

