Englishman River Falls

Little Qualicum Falls and Englishman River Falls offer well-maintained trails, Rathtrevor Provincial Park offers a 5 km riverside walk and for more intrepid explorers there is a five-hour journey deep below the surface at Horne Lake Caves which includes a seven-storey underground waterfall called the Rain Barrel. For those of us less brave there is Milner Gardens to explore which is rated one of the ten best public gardens in Canada – sadly for me who loves to visit any garden it was only open Thurs – Sun in October. Oh well, another excuse to re-visit the Island.

We managed a walk in the Englishman River Falls Park looping around the top falls and the lower falls where the water ran the most incredible deep emerald-green and followed by a visit to the Wildlife Recovery Centre where injured birds and mammals, including eagles and black bears, are given a home and help to recuperate before being rehabilitated. As a non-profit charitable organisation you know that your entrance fee is used to make a difference.

Would I stay in this area again? Probably not. I’d have rather extended my time on the West coast, although saying that if I wasn’t visiting off-season then I would have gone over to Gabriola Island which is close to Nanaimo and is famous for numerous studios and art galleries. There are three provincial parks, a museum, bald eagles and lots of coastal scenery. It is a good day trip by bike or by car.

Food comments? Managed an OK steak platter at Leftys (cheap) in Qualicum Beach and a relatively good Jambalaya and home-made tiramisu at the Cozy Stove on Alberni Hwy

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

10 thoughts on “Englishman River Falls”

  1. Although this reads as if you were not that impressed, it still looks pretty good to me. Nice eagle, good waterfall, lovely water. I’m sold! Regards as always from Norfolk, Pete. x

    1. I think that the whole area appeared a little too sanitised for our liking, especially after the wild, emptiness of the west coast. It took a bit of getting used to. The waterfalls were lovely and there are some good hiking trails. Maybe I just left my heart in Tofino 😉

    1. How bizarre, I have just found you in my spam folder! What on earth are you doing lurking in there?
      There are several posts about Vancouver MrsC starting with this one http://wp.me/pL5Ms-mK
      then just press the next button for the rest of my views of Vancouver which incidentally I love 😉
      Are you planning a visit?

        1. Go! It is a lovely city with loads to do, and so close to this beautiful island. (I have had to be fished out of a couple of blogs too, very odd, but *fingers x* it doesn’t keep happening)

  2. I know what you mean about being spoiled by the wild and too-sanitized but remember that all many people will ever see :-(. You did a nice job of making it look good anyway!

    1. It is a lovely area and we were there off-season so a lot of attractions were closed. I am sure it does not get the reputation of being Canada’s Riviera for nothing – safe sandy beaches and things for kids to do. I suppose it is equivalent to our Torbay region in South Devon.

      I am very glad that we spent some time there, but I personally wouldn’t choose it as a base in summer, for one thing it is probably too busy, and secondly I like being off the beaten track nowadays. Not difficult to make it look nice Tina, it is 🙂

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

